Your Key to Immigration Solutions
  1. Home
  2.  » Deferred Action

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

DACA is a U.S. immigration policy that allows certain individuals brought to the United States as children to remain in the U.S. for a period of two (2) years with work authorization. Individuals with deferred action may renew their application every two (2) years. However, even if an individual is granted deferred action, certain crimes may cause your status to be revoked, and you may be unable to renew your deferred action status.

Basic Qualifications:

  • Arrived in the U.S. before age 16
  • Born after June 15, 1981
  • Resided continuously in the U.S. since June 2007
  • Physically in the U.S. on June 15, 2012
  • Entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or your visa expired on June 15, 2012
  • Attending high school or having a high school diploma or GED

At Chavez & Valko, LLP, we can review your eligibility and qualification, review your supporting documentation, and even complete and submit your packet to the Department of Homeland Security. We take it one step further and provide you with a checklist to make sure you have everything you need to secure your future.

As of July 16, 2021, A Texas judge has issued a ruling partially ending the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. Here’s what you need to know:

Current DACA Recipients

  • Current protections and benefits will continue
  • Recipients can continue submitting renewal applications

First-Time DACA Applicants

  • No first-time DACA applications are being processed
  • Biometric appointments have been canceled
  • USCIS is still accepting applications but will not process or approve them
  • Application fees will not be refunded

We are continually monitoring the DACA program for any changes

For more information about DACA, give us a call at 214-251-8011 (Dallas, TX) or 817-332-1100 (Fort Worth, TX), or schedule your next appointment online here.